Death Squads Game Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Official Community of the Fan-Made 40k Skirmish Wargame Death Squads!

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Painting Advice

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
TheNotoriousBox

Painting Advice Empty
PostSubject: Painting Advice   Painting Advice I_icon_minitimeSun May 15, 2011 8:27 am

Howdy guys. Very Happy

I know I haven't been on for awhile, but you know how school goes .... LOL

With most of my testing and that sort done, I've been getting back into 40k, I recently stripped my guardsmen and are attempting to repaint them. Being a bad painter I need some advice ....

This is what I'd like to base my guard after.

http://killzone.wikia.com/wiki/File:ISA_Regular.jpg
Painting Advice ISA_Regular

Any advice would be great.

Back to top Go down
Mordheimer

Mordheimer

Painting Advice Empty
PostSubject: Re: Painting Advice   Painting Advice I_icon_minitimeSun May 15, 2011 9:45 am

I don't think this would be difficult. Of course, Laney is the expert when it comes visualizing colors. First, I would suggest reading all the TUTORIALS, specially Laney's Tutorial on Washes.

Washing will take any mediocre ('meh') model to a great ('cool!') standard in a flash. It is a great technique for meh! painters like me! HA! The washing will bring out the details AND create the shadows you are looking for.

Like always, start with a basic model... no point on getting fancy on the 1st try! Wink I will use GW's color names (LINK) although I honestly prefer Vallejo Paints. Since I think you are going for natural environments camo (rather than urban), I suggest the following.

Apply a base coat of Camo Green. It will give that subtle green you are looking for. Then paint the Armor, Helmet, Pads, etc with Rotting Flesh. Nice subtle contrast. Then paint Boots, gloves and accessories could be Shadow Grey. Paint the skin Human Flesh and the weapon black.